Poor People's Campaign

Watch:

Poverty is a sin and the federal poverty measure is a disgrace. Join the Poor People’s Campaign for an online mass meeting on Monday, April 12th at 3pm ET / 12pm PT to hear from poor and low-income people, economists and faith leaders who will challenge the dominant narratives on poverty, a narrative that blames poor people for our situation, frames poverty as a racial issue to undermine multi-racial solidarity, and doesn’t recognize the full 140 million and growing who live in poverty or are one emergency away from poverty. 

As Congress debates a long overdue infrastructure bill, and we continue to fight for voting rights, labor rights, immigrant rights and living wages, we will hear how narratives scapegoating poor people are translated into policies that further concentrate power and money in the hands of a few. Policies that deny adequate health care, housing, clean water and sanitation, good jobs and welfare programs, and feed attacks on our democratic participation.

We have the opportunity to rebuild this nation from the bottom up, lifting up communities that have faced deindustrialization, disinvestment and the devastation of the climate crisis. To do so, we must rewrite the national narrative, see clearly the need at hand, and build the political will to make it possible.

Join us Monday as we continue to build a national movement with the power to transform a racial and economic system that requires vast numbers of poor people.

**This online event will be ASL interpreted and open captioned.**

Click here for a digital toolkit to amplify the Campaign’s 14 Policy Priorities for the first 100 days!


Recent:

Join us on April 5th at 4pm ET / 1pm PT for the faith-centered Moral Monday: Making Holy Trouble. This Moral Monday people of faith and deep moral conviction will speak out on the need for voting rights and living wages and how the filibuster is blocking democracy and the pathways to moral policies.